top of page

Today

Today I have stood shoulder to shoulder with a midwife friend and cared for a woman from my caseload

Today I have laughed and cried in excess

Today I have frowned, fretted, tried to fix

Today I have hugged so many people and held so many hands, rubbed legs, scooped up blood

Today I have welcomed a new baby into the world and into a family full to the brim with love

Today I have stood, squatted, stooped until my legs and feet throbbed

Today I have felt scared, broken, supported, helpless all at once

Today I have been trusted, respected, loved, wanted, needed

Today I have loved my job and also wondered why I'm doing it

Today I have felt part of a family like never before

Today has tested me, exhausted me, shown me what I am made of

Today the mentor/life guru/friend has given me the soundest of wisdoms:

“Being a midwife is being with woman, it's not choosing her path, it's going there with her”

Today I have walked that path with the woman and her family

Today I am proud of the midwife I have been, of the midwife I am


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page