top of page

While you were sleeping

While you were sleeping

I donned my uniform

Then doffed it again.

While you were sleeping

I held a hand

And mopped a brow.

While you were sleeping

I cradled new life

And watched it grow.

While you were sleeping

I made tea and toast

And found paracetamol.

While you were sleeping

I washed and gelled my hands

Until they threatened to bleed.

While you were sleeping

I wondered how long

The PPE would last.

While you were sleeping

I said goodbye to my babies

To keep them out of harm’s way.

While you were sleeping

I wrapped my dark humour

Around me like a cloak.

While you were sleeping

I cared for your kin

And loved them wholeheartedly.

While you were sleeping

I loved a baby

Who would never go home.

While you were sleeping

I cried tears

Of loneliness, frustration, fear.

While you were sleeping

I stood shoulder to shoulder

With colleagues, friends, family.

While you were sleeping

I laid awake

And thought of my loved ones.

While you were sleeping

I prayed you stayed home

Unless absolutely necessary.

While you were sleeping

I felt cold, hungry, tired

Yet loved, respected, loved some more.

While you were sleeping

I took stock and saw

The tired women around me.

While you were sleeping

I gazed upon the faces

of the people I loved the most.

While you were sleeping

I dreamt of a break

A rest, a reprieve, not more.

While you were sleeping

I held it together

Because I didn’t want you to worry.

While you were sleeping

I stood on the frontline

And stared down the barrel of the gun.

While you were sleeping

I questioned my life choices

And decided they were hard, but right.

While you were sleeping

I stood, saw, conquered, risked

And then I risked some more.

While you are sleeping

While you are awake

While you are you

I am a midwife

We will carry on

For you


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page